Current knitting…

I sort of got sick of knitting Knitty’s Thermal and wanted something more suited to summer and at a larger gauge!  I will pick it up again when the weather gets cold, I think (which could be tomorrow, knowing London weather).

So I took myself down to loop in Islington and bought the pattern and supplies for the Blue Sky Alpacas Eyelet Cardigan.  I’m using their organic cotton and I have to say it bears absolutely no resemblance to regular cotton.  It is so soft and fluffy (and yes, sheds everywhere).  I love it.  I bought the cream but you can also get green, and some light brown shades, in the colours they come off the cotton plant (that is, they are not dyed).  I love the idea of these undyed coloured cottons and will definitely work with them again one day.  In fact I have a bit of a project in mind…

The best part is the cardigan is knit on 4.5mm needles and I am racing along.  It practically knits itself.  Here’s the progress so far:

I should add that not much of that was done during the knit crawl yesterday – I kept stuffing up!  I’m useless at knitting in a group.  However it is a very easy pattern and the lace keeps it just interesting enough.

One thought on “Current knitting…

  1. I’m so glad you linked! I was wondering how you were getting along!

    The photos of London are fabulous. Have you found the vegetarian restaurants yet? We can especially recommend Rani in Finchley, a vegetarian indian restaurant. My veggie partner raves about it still. As a devout meat-eater I went for the dessert – Rani Nutty Delight. It is divine. Also try Chai in Edgware – completely vegan, with buddhist chefs and the best chinese food I’ve had outside Hong Kong (where I grew up, so I know my noodles!) – their buffet is spectacular and their not-prawn sesame toasts are heavenly.

    If you get the urge to eat really good British food (and yes, there is such a thing) then take a trip to Reading to http://www.colleyssupperrooms.co.uk/ and make sure you make a booking – they have set times for eating and you mustn’t be late but it is an experience (make sure you skip lunch, its a 6 course meal) and it’s the best restaurant in the country. The puddings defy description (in a good way) and there is a vegetarian dish in every course. My 100%vegetarian chap lists it as his favourite restaurant EVER.

    He would also like me to tell you that the Quorn sausages are much nicer than the Linda McCartneys (in case you haven’t tried them yet) and if you’ve ever wanted to try jelly but have been put off by the gelatine then Asda do vegetarian jelly crystals. We have a lifetime’s supply as we bought the entire stock of our local shop before emigrating.

    Where are you going next?

Leave a Reply

