Leek quiche

A workmate just asked for this recipe, and since I was typing it up I figured I’d post it here too.  It’s a bit slap-dash like all of my recipes, alter to suit you!  There’s a good pastry recipe over on my old food blog, I may eventually transfer all of my recipes over here.

1 packet shortcrust pastry

3-4 eggs

1/2 C sour cream/cream/milk

1/2 C – 1 C cheese

2 leeks (or desired filling)

Butter/olive oil

spoonful or so of wholegrain mustard (or whatever will go with the filling you choose)

salt/pepper

Line a quiche dish with the pastry and refrigerate while you prepare the filling.  Slice the leeks and saute in the butter or oil for a few minutes, then reduce the heat, add some water and cook until the leeks are soft.  Whisk the eggs together with the sour cream, add 1/2 C cheese (optional), mustard, and salt and pepper to taste.  Put the cooked leeks into the pastry shell and pour the filling over.  Top with more cheese.  Cook at 200 degrees for about 35-40 minutes until a knife comes out clean when inserted.  You can grill it for a few more minutes to brown the top if desired.

Tastes good cold – I would recommend eating cold rather than heating in the microwave as microwaves tend to make pastry a little chewy.

One thought on “Leek quiche

  1. Hey Sarah 🙂 Can’t believe I haven’t made it to read your blog until now! (I’m slack. Or busy. Probably both :p)

    Well aaaaanyway, I’m going to have to spend time catching up but I’m sure it will be worth it.

    Hmmm your new knitted items look gorgeous! Every now and then you make me believe that I can knit. Only one way to get rid of that feeling… … … ! 🙂

    Anyway, lass soon, will keep in touch and snoop around your blog some more tonight.

    (Challenge: spoon in a mouthful of your ready-to-chew pesto… and then try to say LEEK QUICHE LEEK QUICHE LEEK QUICHE!!!)

Leave a Reply

