Boo hoo

Well, one month shy of its fourth birthday, my laptop has finally given up the ghost. It’s not completely dead, but nor is the blue screen a good sign either. I paid fifty quid to some dodgy-looking shop (which does claim to be a licenced Toshiba repairer) in Tottenham Court Road to “see what they can do” about it, and handed my precious baby over. I explained that all I really wanted was the data (my photos! my writing! my music!) but given that the swarthy, chainsmoking guy I gave it to spoke very limited English, I’m just hoping they don’t completely reformat it…

Argh! Meanwhile I have been pricing new computers and wondering if I can afford one what with my upcoming trip to Italy, Monaco, France and Spain (what? I didn’t tell you about that? oh yeah – leaving next week!), although the tour is mostly paid for. And of course then there’s Ally Pally this weekend! *gnashes teeth, wails* It’s seriously going to cut into my yarn-buying capacity…

Ah well, things in my life have a habit of working out for the best! In truth Europe shouldn’t be so terribly expensive as it’s mostly paid for already, there’s just four extra nights in cheap hotels, food, and entry prices (and oh yes, TOILETS. Those mercenaries on the Continent!) to deal with.

I’m on my cousin’s computer right now, which is a horrible mac thingy. I think my next post will be from a shiny new HP pavilion (and when I say shiny, I mean it’s got one of them lovely shiny widescreens and a dvd remote! yes I can be rather girly even about technology purchases, but for a laptop it should also make a halfway decent gaming machine should the mood strike.) Or possibly another Toshiba. I just really wish my Dad hadn’t gone home on Friday or that my brother was here to help with the bargaining bit – he’s a real wheeler-dealer and I’m not really.

I had been worried about travelling to France so soon after, well, you know (I’m not going to say the dreaded R word here). But then I remembered that I’m on a UK passport and they all think I’m a rosbif anyway (c’est possible, to be a vegetarian rosbif?). But then I realised that that will probably be even WORSE especially by the time I get there so there’s no escape!

Well I’ve been whiling away my computerless time doing things like knitting, and cooking, and reading, so I think I may leave you there and go and eat some homemade bean soup with cornbread muffins, and start a new book!

2 thoughts on “Boo hoo

Leave a Reply

