Ally Pally damage

… actually not as bad as it could have been. I couldn’t find everything I was looking for (and spent quite a while looking for the perfect yarns to knit the Endpaper Mitts with (I want teal and dark grey, as it will go well with my new winter coat). But here is what I walked away with:

Some of the famous Eucalan from Socktopus (big knitting washing day coming up tomorrow! let’s hope it all dries before Rachael comes to stay on my drying surface futon on Sunday!). Mmmm, smells good (yes I did insist on smelling it and Alice didn’t look at me like I was crazy, yay).

Some Pure Lana Ecologica from a stand that had this and then a lot of acrylic blend stuff. It is what it says it is – lovely, soft, pure, undyed woolly stuff. Destined to become a Gretel hat, sometime quite soon I think – I have been craving an instant gratification project.

And then, the day’s big purchase: Simply Shetland 4 and a yarn pack to make the Autumn Rose Pullover:

I have been completely and utterly obsessed with this pullover for some time now. Also completely and utterly terrified. I have never done any colourwork of any kind before (ok, once I think I knit something with stripes, but that’s way on the other end of the scale!) but I simply must knit it. The thought of knitting an entire jumper on 2, 2.5 and 3mm needles is also a bit scary. But even so, I can’t wait to go to I Knit tomorrow night (movie night!) and buy the needles. But I’m also really hoping I Knit will have exactly the shades I have in mind for my Endpaper Mitts, so I can at least get a little practice in before I jump in at the deep end with this “expert” level pattern.

Hmm, I just remembered I am already knitting a jumper with 3mm needles. It’s called Thermal, and it’s hiding about 30% completed at the bottom of my stash bin. Then there’s the Pinup Queen sweater (I think anything with such an American name must be called a sweater) I started the other day. I’m not usually one to leave projects half-done (socks aside). Thermal was abandoned when I arrived in New York, because suddenly it wasn’t winter any more. Pinup Queen, well, that was just an attempt to bust my stash before Ally Pally. But wouldn’t it be nice to knit something called “Autumn Rose” in Autumn? Or should I try to finish something else first?

Also, any advice on knitting this behemoth of a project would be very, very gratefully received!

One thought on “Ally Pally damage

Leave a Reply

