Blue Monday

Apparently the media Powers That Be have declared today to be the most depressing day of the year – the day when weather, post-Christmas debt, and failed New Year’s Resolutions combine and we may as well not even get out of bed.

Bad weather? Check. It’s been dark today. In fact the brightest point came around 4pm when the full moon rose.

Post-Christmas debt? Not so much – I was very careful with my money over Christmas, and since then I think I’ve earned enough to pay off a decent chunk of debt.

Failed New Year’s Resolutions? Writing my blog instead of going to dance class – check.

But how much does all that actually matter? I have been at a bit of a low ebb since I came back, struggling to keep my head above water. But slowly I have managed to make time to eat properly, see friends, go to four dance classes, and get a massage, haircut, and eyebrow shape. There are things I haven’t done too but I’m not going to beat myself up about it. My energy levels are high so who knows what I may achieve in the next few weeks?

In the meantime I leave you with my last FO of 2007: Lush and Lacy from Sweaterbabe.com

001

003

The stats:

Pattern: Lush and Lacy from Sweaterbabe.com (links to Ravelry)

Yarn:  Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk Aran (from last summer’s John Lewis sale) – five balls.  I originally bought this to make Annie Modesitt’s Pinup Queen from SnB, but I realised that the yarn was completely wrong for that pattern – alpaca works much better in lace than ribbing!  Then I thought it was going to be the Waist Cincher Top from Knitting Lingerie Style, until I happened upon this pattern and bought it on a whim.

Mods: The back gathers weren’t written completely symmetrically – I changed my decreases so that they ended up symmetrical.  I made the sleeves a little longer so they hit just below the elbow.  I also wrote myself a lace chart to save my sanity – there is no chart in the pattern and although it’s easy lace my brain was just not functioning with the written instructions.  I made the toggle ties using a knotted, friendship bracelet-style cord.

Verdict:  I’m happy with this, although I haven’t figured out what to wear it with yet!  Love the alpaca silk, two of my favourite fibres in one yarn!

2 thoughts on “Blue Monday

  1. Pingback: FO: Lush and Lacy « A Mingled Yarn

Leave a Reply

