Sharing & Caring

I feel like I have so much to write all of a sudden… links to share, stories to tell, pictures to paint of my life here in London. I hope the weather is good in the weekend, because I want to take you on a walk with me!

I started writing a short story today which was a big thing for me, it’s not something I will post here and it’s a bit of a Murakami rip-off anyway, but I was proud of myself from taking a little bit of inspiration from something in my daily life and asking “what if?”

Speaking of daily life… it is not always easy. I don’t speak about work much because this is a public forum, but my job is not something I particularly enjoy. Work is extremely busy at the moment and everything is urgent. When I first started I took the attitude that I was a temp and paid for 7 hours a day, if there is more than 7 hours a day of work to do then it’s not my problem. But it’s very difficult to be that nonchalant. There are a couple of stresses to do with home life as well (let’s just say I long for the day I can have my own place – which is incidentally what keeps me going back to work every day). Overall I’ve been very proud of my attitude in the past year, but it’s taken time and I do have my little hiccups sometimes.

A year or so ago a friend linked to MoodGym. It’s basically a training program to help you understand why you think and feel the way you do and how to cope with things. Anyway, I only got a little of the way through but I thought it was pretty good, and I’m going to have another crack at it. They have characters they use as examples of different ways of thinking, and boy are there some people I recognise in there… including myself, which is the point really, isn’t it?

Wow, all this focus on mind, body and soul… but that is really what my life is about right now. I’m looking forward to reading “What to Do When You Don’t Know What To Do” which is a question Holly Becker has promised to answer on her Decor8 blog (I’m trying to cut down on my blog reading and facebooking and spend more time here, but that blog is too inspirational not to read). It sounds like exactly the kind of advice I need right now. A year ago I made a very big decision, but that was a year ago now… it’s “what next?” time.

Or perhaps not “what next?” but “what if?”

Leave a Reply

