Bruges

A few weeks ago I filled in an online form to book myself a trip to the Isle of Wight for the weekend. And then I never heard back from the company! Until the week of the trip itself, when I had already decided I couldn’t be bothered going anywhere and I was going to mope around at home instead. Then they left a message on my phone saying there wasn’t any Isle of Wight trip any more, but would I like to go to Bruges for £60?

Without giving it a second thought I called them back and said yes! It turned out to be a good decision – I haven’t been outside the city limits since January 8, and that is too much London for anyone, even a city girl like me.

Saturday morning saw me boarding a coach near Victoria Station at 6:45 am. I was ever so proud of myself! A couple of hours to Dover and then we were on the ferry to Calais. After Calais it was time to introduce ourselves on the coach microphone – funnily it turned out almost everyone was there on their second choice! There was one other lone traveller, Patricia from Perth, so we spent a lot of time together over the weekend.

The weekend was pretty relaxed – Patricia and I did a canal boat tour and then hit the shops. There was Belgian chocolate galore, and I picked up a couple of pairs of shoes – with my narrow feet, I always have more luck on the Continent. Underwear shopping on the other hand was a disaster as the pretty styles only came up to a B cup! I did buy some lovely pyjamas though, as if I need more! There was also a Tintin shop:

046

In the evening the group went out for dinner and then to a bar where they have 400 Belgian beers. I tried Zot, which is the only beer made in Bruges. It was very very tasty!

038

Bruges was very pretty and very very old. It wasn’t destroyed during the war so many of the buildings are 400 or 500 years old – incredible. There’s even a bridge dating from the 14th century, I think.

041

044

047

There are more photos up on Flickr and I will post more about my trip later this week!

2 thoughts on “Bruges

  1. Hi Sarah! Sounds like you had fun in my home country… I went home to see my family last weekend and stocked up on chocolate as well. Hurrah!!! Anyway, hope you’re well – sounds like you are and let me know if you’re going out salsa dancing soon. Lise x

Leave a Reply

