Best muffins ever

Last week I had some leftover raspberries and some belgian white chocolate, so I made some muffins! I wish I could tell you the recipe but I never use a recipe any more. I beat an egg, add some oil (NEVER canola, its strong and quite horrible flavour is no good for baking or quite frankly anything else. My favourites are sunflower or grapeseed, and both are quite good for you. Then I add a bit of milk, some sugar if I’m making sweet muffins, and finally enough flour to make it a nice battery consistency. Now here is the key to making successful muffins: do not overmix! You should mix it just enough to dampen the flour. Don’t leave it sitting around on the bench either, get it straight in the oven.

If you’re making fruit muffins, now is when you add your fruit. Savoury, add your vegetables, herbs and at least a cup of cheese. Bake them in the oven at about 200 degrees for about 20-30 minutes. Don’t open the door while they’re cooking or they will sink! When they look done, press the tops – if they spring back they are cooked.

Eat! Muffins taste best fresh from the oven.

004

One thought on “Best muffins ever

  1. Oh.My. God…. white choclate and raspberry muffins?! Those sounds utterly incredible! I’m going to make these, as soon as raspberries come in season here. Thanks for the great idea!

Leave a Reply

