Knitting

A triple whammy today:

1.  The Interweave autumn (fall) preview is up.  I don’t know if I can think about autumn/winter knitting at this point, it’s actually hot here in London for once!  There is some really nice design there though – not so much stuff I would knit myself, but some good inspiration and it sounds like the articles will be good too.  They’ve continued their use of “real” models even more in this issue – good work!  I’d probably knit the Little Blue Sweater, but for inspiration the Braided Pullover is awesome.

2.  Vogue knitting preview also up!  I don’t think there was anything I wanted to knit there, but the page isn’t loading right now so I can’t check.  Some good inspiration though.

3.  The Knitty Summer Surprise patterns are up.  The “Hey, Teach!” cardigan is cute, and I’d like to try the 2nd Time Cotton (mental note).  Ooh, I just clicked over to Sea Tangles.  Not sure if I’d use the stainless steel for a whole sweater, but it looks cool.  I really want to try out the Kusha Kusha scarf using that stainless steel one day.  I haven’t knit a scarf in years and I see a few in my future… maybe while I’m in New Zealand I’ll knit some.

As for my current knitting, I did start the Tulip Kimono and have almost finished the back.  Imagine a vast stocking stitch rectangle and you’ll understand why I haven’t posted pictures. The yarn is scrummy though. I just looked up the blend and it’s 35% cotton, 25% polyamide, 18% viscose, 9% cashmere – I had thought it was all natural fibres, hmm.  My ethical dilemma is that I love viscose but apparently it is horribly polluting.  Ditto cotton, for that matter.  Oops.

Leave a Reply

