Join Me

A cool thing happened yesterday.

On the way to work yesterday morning, I started reading Join Me, by Danny Wallace. It’s about how Danny started a cult (or rather collective) by accident.

I continued to read it as I sat in the cafe across from work at lunchtime. Then something happened. An old man came up to me and said “I see your book has Join Me written on the front, so I thought I would. Do you mind if I sit here?” I told him to be my guest, and we chatted for a couple of minutes, and the lady at the table next door joined in, and then we all went back to our books, newspapers, and lists (he had a whole stack of lists. I have no idea what they were for!)

On the Tube on the way home I continued to read, until I got to the part where Danny gives his followers their first instruction: Make an old man happy. Unwittingly, I had already followed his first instruction!

I’m definitely joining.

ps. if YOU want to join, send a passport photo to:

JOIN ME
PO BOX 33561
London E3 2YW

One thought on “Join Me

  1. I’m not sure what happens to the passport photos anymore, but I never got a response to mine.

    The joinees are still pretty active on joineeforum.com meet most weeks in a London pub, and have several gatherings a year.

    I’ve been to busy to much with them for last month and I miss them. I’ve made some good friends through Join Me.

    The whole RoaK thing has made me look at things in a different way. Not very different. But a little bit. It’s nice.

Leave a Reply

