Broccoli and chard soup

004

And homemade country grain bread. The soup was very, very good. And so simple. I used one onion, one stick of celery and one clove of garlic, cooked them in a bit of olive oil until soft, added a chopped head of broccoli (just the florets, I saved the stalk to freeze as I’m planning on making some stock later in the week) and a few handfuls of chard (the chard was getting a bit old; the rest of it is destined for the stock now too). Added a little bit of water so they stir fry steamed for a bit, then added some stock made from my favourite standby Vecon. Seasoned and voila! Who knew something so simple could taste so good? This is going in the repertoire.

The bread was fun too, I made it using some instructions from the authors of Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes that I found on the internet. I hope the fact that I keep plugging their book will make up for the fact I have no intention of buying it myself (I have the basic recipe now, I can figure out any variations I need).

Leave a Reply

