Brown paper packages

Sunday is for relaxing at home and eating delicious food.  This applies doubly to Sundays after my fortnightly vegetable delivery from Riverford Organic.

At the moment we are in what is known as the “Hungry Gap”, when all of the winter stores are gone and the summer vegetables are not yet ready for harvest. Riverford plugs the gap with a few more imported vegetables than usual so this week I have some cherry tomatoes and capsicums to liven up the mix. I must admit though that I was a little disappointed when two of the most glorious British vegetables that currently ARE in season were not due for inclusion in my box this week.

So I did what anyone would do and ordered them extra. Two of my favourite things…

007

020

They were so beautifully wrapped it was like getting a present.

I thought very hard about what recipe could possibly be worthy of the asparagus. I had some risotto rice in the cupboard and was tempted to do Rose Grey’s risotto recipe from last Wednesday’s Guardian, but decided I wanted to leave them whole. So I went for the utterly decadent option: hollandaise sauce. A contribution to gastronomy so fabulous the French can almost be forgiven for Napoleon, the Vichy Regime, and the Rainbow Warrior. Never mind that the stuff goes straight to your arteries – I figure that as a (mostly) vegetarian I’m allowed the odd saturated fat blow-out.

018

And the rhubarb? Rhubarb is one of my favourite things in the world. It was my favourite food as a young child, when I used to get very excited every time Mum announced we were going out to the garden to pick some. I have a lot of plans for rhubarb this season, but decided to start with an old favourite: crumble.

024

There is a part of me that is now plotting ways to use up my remaining vegetables (tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach, capsicums, lettuce, onions and cauliflower) by Thursday so I can change my fortnightly delivery to weekly and get more asparagus and rhubarb next weekend! I think it can be done…

3 thoughts on “Brown paper packages

  1. oh god asparagus….yum!!

    strangely enough you are the second post that I have come across today talking about asparagus…

    …I have had a terrible craving for asparagus and soft boiled eggs for quite sometime now!

  2. Over here in southern Germany it is nearly only white asparagus (it grows locally) and I love it most with just butter and black pepper.
    Rhubarb goes in a cake with a meringue topping.

Leave a Reply

