Plenty more where that came from!

….lame puns aside, I really can’t put this cookbook away. It’s not that I’m consciously cooking everything from the same book. Whenever I get a new veg box, I go through my cookbook collection matching ingredient to recipe and Plenty always seems to come out on top (perhaps it just has the best index, come to think of it).

I find cabbage a particular challenge. So when I had a Savoy cabbage in my box and wanted to do it justice, I turned to my cookbooks again and was immediately drawn to the Savoy cabbage and parmesan skin soup recipe.

Parmesan skins are something we’re never short of, thanks to Camilla’s boyfriend who regularly supplies us with Parmesan direct from Italy. I had all of the other ingredients on hand, including some delicious homemade stock made with Ottolenghi’s suggestion of adding prunes to deepen the flavour (it works).

A lovely touch to the soup is that you reserve some of the cabbage leaves, fry them until bright green, and add them to the soup along with some chopped chillies just before serving to add visual punch and textural interest. The soup is already flavoured with the Parmesan rinds but you can add an extra grating right at the end too.

012

The taste? Extraordinary. There’s no way you can go wrong with anything that has that much Parmesan in it, but it truly is more than the sum of its parts. And it was very easy to make too.

The recipe is another one taken from Ottolenghi’s New Vegetarian archives, so if you’d like to make it you can find the recipe here (although the version in the book does not contain the croutons).

While we’re talking Plenty I may as well write about the Green Pancakes with Lime Butter, which due to getting spinach two weeks in a row and having lime butter left over I have now made twice. Not that I have any problem with that, as they were also delicious.

055

Leave a Reply

