Tagliatelle with cavolo nero

I’ve written about this before, but it bears repeating. If I could only eat one meal for the rest of my life, it would be this: Skye Gyngell’s Tagliatelle with cavolo nero. I found the cavolo nero at the Marylebone Farmers’ market last week, at the same organic stall that sold the courgette flowers. Whenever I see cavolo nero I buy it. I love it fried with a bit of garlic and chilli and served with a squeeze of lemon as a side dish, but now that I’ve discovered this recipe I don’t think there is a better way to serve it.

Before:

026

After:

028

Does anyone else have a favourite cavolo nero recipe?

9 thoughts on “Tagliatelle with cavolo nero

  1. This looks amazing – you know, I dont think I’ve ever had cavalo nero! Will have to check out the markets soon, that looks amazing. I don’t eat fishies so i’ll have to sub the anchovies for something veggie…maybe olives? YUM, anyway.

    • Olives would probably be good, you need something to inject that really umami salty kick of the anchovies. Perhaps even some miso or seaweed – weird in an Italian recipe I know but I’m thinking seaweed might go really well with the cavalo nero. Cavalo nero is the king of leafy vegetables, you must seek it out and try it! Farmers’ markets often have it around this time of year, and I’ve sometimes seen it in Waitrose.

  2. That looks so delish! If I can get to the Cavelo Nero in my garden before the white butterfly I love it in soup, especially with white beans, plenty of garlic and good chicken stock, mmmmmm:) But I will try it with pasta now too, cheers

  3. Never heard of Cavelo Nero before but it sounds delicious. I have taken your advice and asked my nearest baker if they are interested in the real bread campaign. They are part of a chain so I don’t know if they will go for it but it is worth a go. Thanks.

    • Depends which chain… one of your best bets for Real Bread is actually M&S. If you check out the “Are Supermarket Bloomers Pants?” report on the Real Bread website, there’s a list of which bread from M&S is additive-free.

  4. Always looking for interesting and quick ways to use our kale. I guess it’s the anchovies that probably make this dish though and I’m vegetarian. Will have to have a think as to what I could use instead, cos it looks really good.

  5. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

