Cherry clafoutis

Pity me, people, for I am allergic to apples, and stonefruit of all kinds. Stonefruit and the start of the apple season are one of the best things about the fading summer, but for me it can be torture!. I’m not highly allergic, but I get an uncomfortable itching and slight swelling in my lips, mouth and throat. And it doesn’t happen every time. I seem to get along better with organic fruit, perhaps because the varieties chosen for organic growing are different from the most common conventional varieties. So I often ignore my allergy and shove a particularly lucious-looking apricot (or as Helly introduced me to last week, an apricot-nectarine cross – I have no idea what that’s called) into my mouth, only to scrabble through my handbag for an antihistamine moments later.

Luckily, there is one guaranteed way for me to eat stonefruit without a reaction: cook them first. One of my favourite ways of eating nectarines involves halving them and cooking them in a reduction of orange juice and Cointreau; delicious served with marscapone or vanilla cream.

With cherries though, it has to be clafoutis. It makes a great quick weeknight dessert, and the leftovers are great for breakfast the next morning. I leave the stones in the cherries; it means you have to take care while eating but then I think it forces you to savour every bite.

Slightly rubbish photos, I’m afraid, which is why I haven’t blogged this before – I seem to be incapable of getting any photos that reflect how utterly delicious this dessert is.

First you need some cherries; about 300g. Here in the picture you can see 250. It’s not enough – don’t skimp on cherries! Wait until the local cherries come on the market. It’s worth it.

002

You want them in a single layer on the bottom of your dish. If they just won’t fit you’ll have to pop a couple in your mouth as you go. If you’re not me, this is probably a good idea. If you’re me, sometimes you will give the spares to your cherry-loving flatmate instead. It’s a win-win – that’s all it takes to get her to do the dishes.

Next, whip up a quick batter with 2 eggs, 200ml milk, 40 grams of flour, 40 grams of sugar, and a heaped teaspoon of baking powder. Add a few drops of vanilla essence or cherry brandy if you have it.

Pour it over the cherries:

007

Stop pouring when the cherries start to float. You don’t want too much batter. Incidentally, once I made this with almond milk and it was really tasty, however the batter was a little more dense.

Stick it in a hot oven (about 180 degrees) and cook for 30-35 minutes or until it starts to turn golden brown on top.

008

Here’s the hard part: you have to take it out of the oven and leave it to cool for a bit. It will sink down a little in the middle, that’s ok. Serve with lashings of single cream.

7 thoughts on “Cherry clafoutis

  1. My mum found out a few years ago that she’s allergic to stone fruit too, cherries, apples, pears etc and hazelnuts as they apparently come from the same genus of plant. Basically she can’t eat any of the tree fruit native to this country which makes her very unhappy.

    The pollen or whatever it is that gives her the allergic reaction is diminished or wiped out (I’m not really sure, she did explain it once) during cooking though so I’m always on the look out for recipes that let her cook her favoured but pain inducing fruits.

    Just a quick question though, it doesn’t look like you stoned the cherries before popping them in the dish? Is this deliberate, and how does that work out when you’re eating it?

    • It’s easier to make and prettier if you don’t stone the cherries. You just have to eat carefully and spit them out as you go! If you are making it for children it would probably be best to stone them first. The recipe also works well with halved and stoned plums.

      I get it with hazelnuts too, it’s very annoying as I love hazelnuts! Basically how it works is it’s a cross-reaction with pollens that are similar in shape to the proteins in the fruit. So apples often cross-react with a birch pollen allergy for instance. Cooking denatures or changes the shape of the fruit proteins so the body no longer recognises it as something potentially dangerous.

      The stupid thing is pollen is not dangerous, neither is fruit, but my stupid body thinks the fruit is something else that it thinks is dangerous!

      • Thanks! Halved and stoned plums is definitely one to try in the autumn, and one to tell my mum as they have a plum tree in the back garden which I think she’s unable to eat from now. Think I’ll probably stone the cherries when I make this, but then I like any excuse to use my cherry stoner.

        Allergies are ridiculous, I’m not sure why the body gets so confused about things attacking it when they aren’t, it’s probably to do with our modern living or something. I’m lucky I’m only allergic to skin things like wool, although my mum didn’t develop her fruit allergy until her 50s so perhaps I still have that fun to come!

    • No, I didn’t react. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t… it has a lot to do with whether I’ve taken an antihistamine, too. (I’ve gone a week without antihistamines now!)

Leave a Reply

