Granola

We seem to have a really dreadful moth infestation at the moment. Friends inform me that it’s one of the perils of living in London, but I can’t help but feel like a bad housekeeper for failing to keep them out in the first place. Anyway, affected cupboards have been identified, food has been thrown out, pheromone traps have been installed, and we’re crossing our fingers the infestation hasn’t spread to the spice cupboard or the baking cupboard. Because then there will be tears.

And those moths have expensive taste. They loved the sun dried tomatoes Camilla’s boyfriend brought from Italy. And they were especially partial towards my pine nuts.

I had been meaning to make granola for a few days, but alas, they had infiltrated my pumpkin seeds, sliced almonds, and sunflower seeds as well (unfortunately the lid of the airtight container I had them in had been knocked ajar).

As you can imagine, I was a little upset by all of this wanton destruction. When I am upset I go to my happy place. Luckily my happy place sells pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, almonds and long ribbons of shredded coconut.

There will be granola. Oh yes, there will be granola!

071

I’m not sure that constructing your own granola is any cheaper than buying it, but this way you get to have whatever you want in it. This particular batch contains:

  • oats
  • barley flakes
  • amaranth puffs
  • sliced almonds
  • pumpkin seeds
  • sunflower seeds
  • coconut
  • milled flaxseed (I used a stick blender on whole golden flaxseed.  It’s easier to digest when milled)
  • blueberries
  • cranberries
  • about 2 tablespoons of Clearspring Omega Oil
  • about half a cup of maple syrup
  • a couple of tablespoons of local honey

All of the ingredients were organic.  I mixed everything but the berries together in a big bowl, spread out on an oven tray (I did this in batches) and cooked at 180 degrees until it was golden brown and crunchy.  Next time I think I would add the coconut halfway through as it browned a bit too much.  I added the berries at the end.  When serving I also add a handful of cacao nibs.  Served with a few tablespoons of organic yoghurt it is divine.  My best granola yet.

Leave a Reply

