Tian de tomates, courgettes et Sainte-Maure

I had a big sort-out of my room the other day. I threw a lot of stuff out, built some new shelves, filed things, and generally turned my desk area into somewhere I can actually work.

The best thing about a tidy-up is the things you dig up. I found a copy of an old Marie Claire Idées on my bookshelf, started flicking through it to decide whether or not I should keep it, and found a recipe for Tian de tomates, courgettes et Sainte-Maure. I had some courgettes in the fridge needing to be used up, and a friend about to visit, so I thought it would make a lovely meal. Sainte-Maure is a little difficult to find in London so I used a Somerset goat’s cheese instead.

013

My friend Pip loved it so much she has been pestering me for the recipe, so here it is!

Serves 4
Preparation: 15 minutes
Cooking: 1 hour 15 minutes

6 tomatoes (small, or 5 larger tomatoes – I didn’t use all the tomatoes)
2 courgettes
1 Sainte-Maure goat’s cheese, or substitute this with a British goat’s cheese like I did
4 sprigs of thyme
4 cloves of garlic
100ml olive oil (I don’t think I used this much)
Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Chop the tomatoes, courgettes and cheese into rounds about 3mm thick. Finely slice the garlic. Oil the dish, then arrange the vegetables and cheese in the dish, alternating them. Put the sliced garlic between the vegetables. Pour some more olive oil over the top, sprinkle with thyme and put in the oven.

The tian is cooked when the courgettes are translucent and soft. Let it cool for a bit before serving. I recommend serving it with a crusty baguette.

Also, if anyone knows where I can get Marie Claire Idées in London please let me know!

3 thoughts on “Tian de tomates, courgettes et Sainte-Maure

Leave a Reply

