MyIce, and ethical chocolate

Sometimes I am approached to write product reviews for my blog. I like to be as impartial as possible, but on the other hand I like to keep it positive on my blog, so I only accept those offers that I am genuinely interested in and think I will be able to write about enthusiastically. I hope that explains my thinking somewhat, and also why there is a lack of harsh criticism on here.

Anyway, recently I was contacted about the launch of MyIce, which is an ethical loyalty rewards scheme based on the internet. Basically, you go to their website, log in, follow links to a variety of different ethical shops and collect points, known as Ice, as you shop. You can later spend that Ice on products from the same shops. What I like, which is better than other rewards programmes, is that you can use you Ice in part payment for products as well. There are an impressive number of businesses already signed up and more to come, so you can buy everything from big ticket furniture items from Eat Sleep Live to little foodie treats from Foodari or Green and Black’s. You can even get Ice points on your Eurostar tickets.

I was credited with enough points on my account to buy a Green & Black’s selection box, which I haven’t even opened yet but I don’t need to – I’m a big Green & Black’s fan.

Which brings me to my next point. The above statement about reviews notwithstanding, sometimes I get a little disappointed. Last week I was emailed by a PR about the new Sainsbury’s Taste The Difference range. I’m not a big supermarket shopper but Sainsbury’s is my local so I do pop in from time to time. Anyway, I was offered some of the new Taste The Difference single origin Fairtrade chocolate. I accepted, because as I told the PR, I only buy Fairtrade chocolate and I’m very into single origin choc.

However, the chocolate, when it arrived, was Swiss Milk Chocolate (not single origin), with no sign of a Fairtrade certification mark anywhere.

Update: The PR for Sainsbury’s sent me a replacement bar of the single origin Fairtrade chocolate. I have to admit it was pretty tasty. Very smooth texture and nice, complex flavour, not too bitter. I wish they would make all of their chocolate fair trade!

6 thoughts on “MyIce, and ethical chocolate

    • With the Sainsbury’s chocolate, I’m just annoyed that I was offered something I wanted to review and received something I didn’t want to review. That said, for milk chocolate it tastes rather good.

  1. I’ve seen myice, I think they need to do a lot more work on it before launching more widely. Not sure I’m going to give them the benefit of a mention on my blog though as so far I’ve not been able to order the chocolate as it’s rejecting my code! Big thumbs down from me.

    I must get all the same emails as you as I had the Sainsbury’s one too – they’ve not replied or sent me any chocolate though, boo hoo.

  2. Oh dear on the myice front, yeah I think there are still some hiccups they need to sort – like the big login button on the front page doesn’t work (at least not in Chrome)! But I think it’s a good idea and I’m all for supporting ethical businesses.

    They’re sending me some more Sainsbury’s chocolate now! I’d give them a prod if I were you. If this single origin stuff is good I’ll be very excited.

  3. I don’t often get approached to review things so I’m generally quite excited when it happens. I too was emailed by Sainsburys and I’m glad I’m not the only one to have been disappointed. I was sent Swiss milk chocolate and some coffee. I don’t drink coffee (which in fairness they weren’t to know!) but in my reply to them I had specifically stated that I was allergic to nuts. Hence very disappointed with their offering of non-fair trade, non-single estate chocolate containing nuts! I too am apparently supposed to be receiving the other chocolate, but this was ten days ago and not a peep from them – have you heard anything?

    Also wanted to say – love your blog! Only found you recently but having a great time reading through your archives and very much looking forward to more!

  4. That’s disappointing – they did send me some of the fair trade chocolate, and it was delicious (as was the Swiss milk chocolate, but I could never promote non fair trade chocolate on my blog). Oh, and they threw some fair trade Earl Grey tea in with the next parcel. I’d prefer they just stuck to the chocolate since that’s what I was interested in. I don’t drink coffee either, or bagged tea dust. Going to hang onto the tea until my mum visits next year though.

Leave a Reply

