Granola

Every so often I revise my granola recipe. I’ve been sticking to the recipe below for quite a while now.

I figure it’s my daily vitamin supplement. It’s full of fibre and lots of good minerals, with Omega 3 from the flaxseed. You can vary up the nuts – the most delicious turn out to be the healthiest, but also the most expensive. Of course, it’s very high in fat and sugar. A little goes a long way. I eat three tablespoons of granola with about four tablespoons of yoghurt and a big handful of blueberries, sometimes raspberries.

034

Coconutty granola

You can add anything you want to granola but this is what I put in the other day:

250g barley flakes
250g rolled oats
60g flaxseed, milled
60g flaked almonds
60g pumpkin seeds
60g sunflower seeds
60g macadamia nuts, chopped
60g walnuts, chopped
60g pecans, chopped
60g brazil nuts, chopped
60g toasted coconut flakes
3 heaped tablespoons coconut oil
100ml maple syrup

Preheat the oven to about 160 degrees. Melt the coconut oil and the maple syrup together. Combine with the rest of the ingredients and stir to mix. All of the measurements are pretty approximate, once you’ve mixed it up, if it looks like it needs something more, add it in. I don’t like it too sweet but you could add more maple syrup or use golden syrup instead. But remember it’s breakfast, not dessert!

At this stage I generally split the mixture in two and bake half at a time. If you have two large oven trays (preferably with sides to contain spillage) you could do one on the middle tray and one on the bottom tray and swap them halfway. I spread it out as much as I can and put it in the oven for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes it should be a bit brown on the top. Give it a stir and put it in for another ten minutes, while your kitchen fills with the irresistible smell of fresh granola.

When I take it out, I like to wait for it to cool before tipping it into a container. That way some of it sticks together in lovely crunchy clusters.

6 thoughts on “Granola

  1. I’m passionate about breakfast, it’s my favourite meal of the day (possibly because the painkillers I take have an effect upon my appetite throughout the rest of the day). This morning I had two poached eggs, two slices of bacon and fried mushrooms washed down with a pot of tea. The eggs and mushrooms came from our local veg box scheme, the bacon from the ayrshire farmer’s market that comes to our town once a fortnight. My partner brought me the lot in bed. That’s a good way to start the day! In recent years I have made an effort to wean myself away from carbo-centric breakfasts to protein based ones and it’s been hard. Today’s breakfast was particularly large (often I just have the eggs and maybe one slice of toast with them). However, I spent this week in hospital and felt in dire need of a protein kick. Here’s what was offered to me for breakfast in hospital: porridge the texture of wall paper paste and salted (I’m in Scotland), mainstream cereals, white toast with butter (and jam/marmalade etc). I know they have to cook on a strict budget but it would have cheered me up so much to have had some fresh fruit, yoghurt or eggs. Or even some real bread!

    Great to see you blogging again.

    • That is a very good way to start the day! I’ve been following your health issues on your blog and you really have my sympathy – I have hypermobility but not to a degree where it really affects my life.

      Don’t get me started on hospital food. Luckily I have no personal experience, but at Sustain we campaign on hospital food (and we’re trying to get Real Bread into hospitals), and one of my colleagues is doing some stuff on hospital food for her dissertation.

  2. Ooh, this sounds yummy! We are a porridge household, with eggs, breads and fry ups (done on the grill!) thrown in occasionally!

    Cxx

  3. Pingback: Cooking with yoghurt* | Knit your own yoghurt

Leave a Reply

