Meat Free Monday

As I’m sure many of you know, I was vegetarian for years, interspersed with periods of eating fish as well. These days I define myself as pescetarian, but of course I don’t eat fish for every meal.

Not eating meat, or eating less meat is one of the easiest and most effective things you can do to make your lifestyle more sustainable. This is why the McCartney family have launched the Meat Free Monday campaign, which I’m sure you’ve heard of.

A lot of people seem to find vegetarian food daunting – I’ve had friends be terrified at the prospect of having me round to dinner! It seems so strange to me as I think vegetarian food is so much easier than meat – there’s certainly less risk of contracting salmonella anyway! The Meat Free Monday campaign is a great way to start cutting down on meat, anyway – and there are plenty of recipes on the website.

Lately, I’ve been working crazy hours, without much time (or energy) to cook. Enter Sarah, who has recently started working for Purple PR (congratulations on the new job!). She came to my rescue a few weeks ago by sending me the newest Linda McCartney product, a Mushroom and Ale pie.

I’m happy to report it was absolutely delicious! It had a really rich, umami-packed flavour and the pastry was really good too. I would definitely buy one to eat at the end of a busy Monday at work, if I didn’t have the time or inclination to cook from scratch. I would possibly even serve it to vegetarians and attempt to pass it off as my own cooking…

My photos didn’t do the pie justice so here’s what it’s supposed to look like – and I ate mine with broccoli too!

20110512_Pies-0356_1_01d_bowl

Leave a Reply

