My new Lifebottle

Last week I did something slightly regrettable. Over a year ago, I bought a cheap imitation Sigg water bottle. Until then I’d been reusing bottled water bottles, however they are only meant to be used once and can leach chemicals into the water if you reuse them. Lovely!

Anyway, my water bottle worked well until… it didn’t. It got to a point where the lid wouldn’t screw on properly and it leaked all over my laptop bag. I threw it away in frustration and tweeted for advice.

Tapwater.org came to the rescue by sending me a rather sexy stainless steel Lifebottle.

lifebottle-group-shot

The idea behind Lifebottle is you buy a bottle, which you can then refill at any participating shop/organisation. The number of refilling stations they have signed up is really impressive.

tapwater

(yes, I’m lucky enough to live somewhere on that map, but there are plenty of refilling stations outside central London as well)

Here are some fun facts from the Tapwater.org website:

  • The average person will spend £25,000 on bottled water and associated soft drinks in their lifetime. (scary!)
  • The UK consumes 18 billion plastic bottles each year, and since only a quarter of these are recycled this means 38 million plastic bottles end up in landfill every single day!
  • Independent tests show UK tap water is among the safest in the world. It undergoes hundreds of taste tests every year, and is checked 30,000 times a year for chemicals and bacteria.
  • An estimated 25 percent or more of bottled water is just tap water in a bottle
  • The British Nutritional foundation found that bottled water was no better for you than tap water.
  • The French senate actually advises people who only drink bottled water to mix up their brands because all of the minerals found in bottled waters can be damaging to your health in high doses.
  • In the US a study found nearly 38 different contaminants in 10 brands of bottled water.
Do you need any more reasons to choose tap water?  Because there are plenty!

Lifebottles are excellent quality, being made out of a really high grade of stainless steel, as opposed to other bottles I’ve seen (including my old one) that was made from plastic-lined aluminium. And for those who really just don’t like water, you can get flavour tablets that you can store in the lid. Another optional extra is the ice stick that screws in to keep your drink cold. I prefer my tap water room temperature, but it’s insulated so you can also put hot drinks in there. Think I’ll test it out by taking some tea along to my next 3-hour lecture!

Thank you tapwater.org for sending me a Lifebottle to review.

9 thoughts on “My new Lifebottle

  1. I got my lifebottle about a month ago. I love it. It keeps my water fresh & cold. And most importantly. It doesn’t leak.
    I didn’t much like the strawberry flavour it came with, but am eager to try to the other flavours.
    Great little (350ml) bottle.

  2. Hi.

    I’ve read your article. Tap water’s main advantages are availability, cost (it’s more or less free of cost) and fact that it’s environment friendly (no transport, no plastic bottle producing, no distribution, no water). Disadvantage: it contains chemicals that provide drinkability. So it can be genotoxic, the level of it can increase with old or bad pipes etc.

    On the other hand all types of water (even natural spring and mineral) contain chemical substances which despite very low levels harm human’s health. So reducing the level of genotoxic materials is essential.

    You might want to check unique bottle available in UK now, called Flaska. This glass bottle is programmed meaning that the information imprinted into the glass changes water’s structure and surface tension and thus lowers genotoxicity.

    Kind regards!

  3. The whole “plastic bottles leaching chemicals” thing is blown a bit out of proportion. The amount of the chemicals leaching from plastic into cold water is very small, and the research done has usually involved exposing rats to very high doses, sometimes by injection. When you start talking about hot food or liquids in plastic containers, you should probably be more careful (though I don’t really pay attention). Linky

    Having said that, it’s still not great for the environment. I do buy the occasional bottle though when I get caught short.

Leave a Reply

