Green cleaning: mucky oven

I promised this post months ago and I do apologise! It’s been sitting in my drafts folder for quite some time. I ended up waiting for a certain flatmate to move out before doing this, as she had a habit of burning everything in the kitchen (if anyone has any tips on getting a burning smell out of a microwave, 6 months on, please let me know as that one has me stumped).

Anyway, the oven was nice and grubby by the time she left:

106

Cleaning it, however, was really easy. Just sprinkle with bicarbonate of soda (which I buy in bulk at Unpackaged).

109

Spray with water, and wait. For a really grubby oven you can heat it up a bit, but not too much.

Wipe off.

113

Not bad, right?

4 thoughts on “Green cleaning: mucky oven

  1. Thanks for posting this. Hadn’t heard about this place and bicarb is extremely useful. Definitely use for cleaning. I also take it if feeling queasy, or if bladder feeling ropey.

  2. This reminded me my oven is soooo overdue for a proper cleaning – must do! Try vinegar for your microwave: a little dish of white vinegar (distilled malt or rice/wine if you’re feeling flush) microwaved on a low heat should kill residual burnt smells for you (it worked in mine!)

Leave a Reply

