Work lunch idea – Curried chickpeas

I’m trying to plan my work lunches ahead, preparing a week’s worth of lunches on Sunday ready to take to work. Last week my workmates and I had an away day with lunch on Monday, so I prepared this on Monday evening and it lasted for three lunches – however I was on a mission to use up my chickpeas, so I did use more chickpeas than the recipe stated.

The recipe is from the Made in Hackney cooking workshop I went to earlier this year.

Curried Chickpeas

1 onion, diced (could also be shallots)

1 can chickpeas (400g), drained

1/2 bunch flat leaf parsley, leaves picked

As much spinach as you like (I used about half a bag with each lunch)

Heat a frying pan on a medium heat. Add the coconut oil and cook onions until soft, about 10 minutes.

When the onion is soft, add the curry powder and stir for 15-20 seconds before adding the chickpeas. Continue to cook for another minute or until the chickpeas are warmed through.

20140818_212227

Season and remove from the heat.

Roast the nuts and add them at the end.

Then in bowl put the spinach, and add the chickpeas on top.

If you are taking this to the office, you will need to re-heat the chickpeas separately and add them on top of the spinach.

20140819_133907
Eating al desko

I’m still slowly working my way through the list, and also getting through some things not on the list – for example I used up some pomegranate molasses last week and finished some turmeric today (I still have two jars of that though!).  I have started going through my spice cupboard but I need to psych myself up to complete that task.  I’ve also used the soba noodles in a stir fry – pretty boring so not included here – and a tin of bamboo shoots that should have been on the list but was hiding at the back of the cupboard.

Also worth mentioning – I used some of the muscovado sugar to make a sugar scrub, as I noticed my legs were looking a bit, erm, scaly.  Not a good look when there’s still an outside chance of flashing my pins this summer, so I mixed it up with some sweet almond oil, and my favourite combination of rosemary, geranium and orange essential oils.  The bath turned a lovely shade of caramel as I rinsed off the scrub and a mud mask I also applied!  But my legs are now silky smooth.

 

3 thoughts on “Work lunch idea – Curried chickpeas

  1. Pingback: Storecupboard list of shame | Knit your own yoghurt

Leave a Reply

