Using up the rice

It’s been a busy couple of weeks here at Knit Your Own Yoghurt. I started a new job, and jumped in head first with evenings and weekends. The next few weeks are set to be even busier, for work and other reasons.

I realised I needed to be very organised with my meal planning, so I worked out how I was going to use most of my remaining ingredients. Starting with the rice:

20140901_193410

There’s a Little Waitrose on the way home from the new job. I popped in and saw a single fillet of marinated salmon reduced to clear – perfect! Usually the smaller supermarkets only sell two packs of salmon fillets. A colleague also recommended the most amazing greengrocer in Camden Town, Parkway Greens. I picked up some pak choi, cauliflower, spring onions and some other bits and bobs.

I cooked my remaining sushi rice and added a slosh of rice vinegar and a bit of sugar (as I’m already out of mirin). I cooked the pak choi with a bit of sesame oil and fish sauce. It was a delicious meal.

I used up the arborio, some dried mushrooms and the end of a bottle of white wine by making a risotto:

20140904_212016

After that I had no more rice, but I made cauliflower fried “rice” from The Londoner’s recipe and used up the rest of the peanuts.

20140902_212115

Finally an entire category of the list is done!

4 thoughts on “Using up the rice

    • I’m glad you like it, I’ve had such a good response to the series, despite the poor photography! I don’t know why I don’t get my good camera out… but these are my regular, weeknight meals, made on the fly and photographed in a rush.

  1. Pingback: Storecupboard list of shame | Knit your own yoghurt

  2. Pingback: Pastures new | Knit your own yoghurt

Leave a Reply

