Fishcakes

This continues the old favourites theme by delving even deeper into my past. Fishcakes are a firm favourite in my family and probably the only main meal Mum cooks that we used to eat 25+ years ago.

Fishcakes are a great way to use up leftover potato. I mash the potato (skin on is fine), add a small finely chopped onion, and the fish. For fish my mum always uses tinned tuna, but I like smoked mackerel, about a 2:1 ratio of potatoes to fish. For a bit of extra flavour I add a splodge of umami paste if I have any on hand, as well as some chopped parsley.

20140913_191216

You’ll need three shallow bowls. In the first, put some flour and season it with salt and pepper. I also add sumac if I have any. Beat up an egg in the second (you may need more than one if you’re feeding a family). And put breadcrumbs in the third. Mum always uses homemade but I cheat and buy breadcrumbs.

20140913_190223

To make the fishcakes, roughly shape a handful of mixture into a ball and flatten it slightly. Repeat until the mix is used up. Heat 1-2 cm of oil in a frying pan. Fry the fishcakes until golden brown and drain on kitchen paper.

I found some beetroot chutney in a cupboard so I served it with the fishcakes, as well as some cucumber pickle I’d made earlier and some salad.

20140915_191402

I didn’t quite use up the breadcrumbs, but that’s ok – I’ll save them for the next time I make fishcakes!

Although I didn’t finish the breadcrumbs I did finish the plain flour and used up some potatoes.  Check my progress on the list.

3 thoughts on “Fishcakes

  1. I love fishcakes, and have just got hold of some sumac (mail order not available in my local shops. Its a shame you are working at the weekend – after contact through twitter and blogs it would have been really nice to meet you in person!

  2. Pingback: Storecupboard list of shame | Knit your own yoghurt

Leave a comment