Rhubarb Yoghurt Cake

Rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb. It’s the season, so rhubarb being one of my favourite foods of all time it’s all rhubarb, all the time chez moi.

I bought four bunches of rhubarb at the farmer’s market for the princely sum of £4. Now I get the fun of finding creative ways to use it all up! Crumble is my absolute favourite, but it is off the menu this week.

First up we have rhubarb cake:

107

Yes, I know, the first rule of food blogging is to only take attractive pictures. This one was taken at night, poorly lit and very poorly styled, and the cake is just not that pretty. BUT it was disappearing quickly so I wasn’t sure if I’d get another opportunity to photograph it, and according to my flatmate it’s my best cake yet. So I couldn’t go without sharing the recipe.

Rhubarb Yoghurt Cake

1 1/4 cup unrefined brown sugar
100g butter, softened
1 egg
1 cup natural yoghurt
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
3 cups chopped rhubarb

Topping
About 3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 200 degrees (180 fan-forced). Cream the butter and sugar in a large bowl. Add the egg and mix well., then stir in the yoghurt.  Mix the dry ingredients together and gradually add to the liquids. Add the chopped rhubarb and stir to mix.

Pour into a prepared 25cm cake tin. Mix the topping ingredients together and sprinkle liberally over the top of the cake. Bake for about an hour, until a skewer or knife inserted into the cake comes out free of cake batter.

Serve warmed, with a dollop of yoghurt.

4 thoughts on “Rhubarb Yoghurt Cake

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb yoghurt cake « fingers and toes

  2. Hi – found your blog through a link from Food Stories. I made a cake very similar to this the other day but it didn’t have any ginger whatsoever. On the top I put butter, oats, sugar and cinnamon. The original recipe called for buttermilk but I subbed yogurt. I also cut my sugar in the batter down to one cup. I think mine needed a little something extra so will try adding the ginger next time. It was actually very good cold. Maybe yours doesn’t hang around long enough for there to be any leftovers! I made mine in a large rectangular pan.

Leave a comment