Spooky scary

Jen, Meg and I took advantage of some lovely weather to take a walk through Brompton Cemetery the other day. We had to share the place with a great many Chelsea fans returning from a game but despite that it was still peaceful. I had had the foresight to pack my camera and had some fun experimenting. Cemeteries, being rather monochromatic, spooky places, lend themselves quite well to black and white:

shadow cross

048

058
(this is an example of “breaking the rules”, but I for one happen to like taking photos into the sun)

Despite the grey there were also wonderful flashes of colour, bathed in the spring afternoon light.

029

068

075

Fun fact about Brompton Cemetery that you will already know if you read the Wikipedia article linked above: Beatrix Potter got many of her character names from headstones in the cemetery. I didn’t learn this from Wikipedia but from watching an episode of Antiques Roadshow the other day!

3 thoughts on “Spooky scary

  1. I really like these photographs, my favourite is the coloured one of all the headstones, something very proud about them -they make a statement. The flowers are cool – new life amongst death.

Leave a comment